View All allows a user to see ALL documentation in the system, including inactive employees, regardless of their position in the hierarchy.  You should be very selective in assigning this permission (remember if a person is assigned view all permissions they see everything in the system).  This is a permission that must be assigned individually.  You must override permissions in the employee field to assign this permission.