Creating a New Employee

Enter the “Employees” section and click on “New Employee”. Then enter the information in the appropriate fields.

  • First Name

  • Last Name

  • Employee ID – You may use a combination of numbers and letters. Use an existing employee number, badge number, payroll number, etc.

  • Title (select from drop-down menu)

  • Username (most organizations have standard user names)

  • Password – You will be required to enter and confirm a password. This is a temporary password. The user will required to change it when they log into the system.

    • The temporary password can be the same for all users.

Status/Options

  • The “Active” box is checked by default. To make an employee inactive (archiving) simply uncheck the “Active” box and save your changes.

  • The “Admin” box is unchecked by default. When this option is selected, the user has rights to manage the system. The option should only be selected for the admin user or backup admin.

    • Be very careful in assigning admin permission. An untrained admin can wreak havoc on your system!

  • The “Show Recent List” box is checked by default. When this option is selected, new or updated entries about the user and any subordinates will be displayed on the home page.

  • You may choose to uncheck the “Show Recent List” box for upper management. This eliminates the need to open every entry on the home page, but entries may still be accessed on the “View” page.

Override Permissions / View All

  • Default permissions are set according to title. The admin user may override the default permissions when necessary. This includes a “View All” permission. View All – allows a user to see all documentation in system, including inactive employees, regardless of their position in the hierarchy.

    • Use caution when assigning “View All” rights. Users will automatically see entries based on their position within the hierarchy. View All gives access to ALL entries within the system.

  • Click the the “Override Permissions” button to display the default permissions.

  • Check or uncheck the appropriate permission boxes.

  • Save Changes.

    • It should be noted when you make changes in titles, the system does not automatically update permissions when they have been overridden for an individual employee. You will need to do this manually.

    • It isn’t necessary to “Save Changes” after entering each employee. We recommend you save frequently to avoid losing data.

Editing an Employee

  • Click the “type to search” field at the top of the employee list and begin typing the employee’s first name, last name, or employee ID.

  • Select the employee and make the necessary changes.

  • Save Changes.

Making an Employee Inactive

This feature is used when an employee leaves the organization (retires, resigns, etc.).

  • Go to the “Employee” page and select the employee. Uncheck the “Active” box and “Save Changes.” The employee’s documentation will no longer be viewable at the user level, but remains accessible to the admin user and anyone with the “View All” permission.

    • When made “inactive” employees are automatically removed from the hierarchy.

  • When you make an employee inactive it increases the number of available licenses.

Auditing Employee List

It is important to periodically audit the employee list for accuracy. You can use the “type to filter” window at the top of the employee list. You can use various commands to modify your search. These commands are:

  • Active – All active employees

  • Inactive – All inactive employees

  • By Title as defined by your organization

  • Viewall – Anyone with “View All” permission

  • Audit – Anyone assigned as audit users

  • Admin – Anyone with admin rights