Go to the “Employee” field and select a user to assign their hierarchy.


Assign Manager(s) – You should only assign a user’s direct manager(s).  Type the name of a manager.  A dropdown list will appear as you type.  Once the appropriate name is highlighted, you may; select it with your mouse, hit the “enter” key, or hit the “tab” key.  Repeat this process to add other managers.  To delete a manager, click on the delete button at the end of the name.


Assign Subordinates – Subordinates are assigned the same way as a manager.


Shortcut Features – Several features are available to help manage the hierarchy.


  • Move All / Move Selected – This feature may be used to move all, or some subordinates, to another manager.

  • “Move All” is the default setting.  You may select individual subordinates by checking the box in front of the employee name.  The “Move All” button will change to “Move Selected”

  • When this feature is selected a “Move Subordinates To…” popup will be displayed.

  • Begin typing the name and select from the dropdown list.  The function will be completed once the name is selected.

  • To cancel this function, click “Cancel” or the close window button.

  • Save Change. 

  • Copy All / Copy Selected – This feature may be used to copy all, or some subordinates, to another manager.

  • “Copy All” is the default setting.  You may select individual subordinates by checking the box in front of the employee name.  The “Copy All” button will change to “Copy Selected”

  • When this feature is selected a “Copy Subordinates To…” popup will be displayed.

  • Begin typing the name and select from the dropdown list.  The function will be completed once the name is selected.

  • To cancel this function, click “Cancel” or the close window button.

  • Save Change. 

  • Switch All – This feature may be used to switch all subordinates from one manager to another.

  • This feature will not function when a partial list of employees is selected.

  • When this feature is selected a “Switch Subordinates To…” popup will be displayed.

  • Begin typing the name and select from the dropdown list.  The function will be completed once the name is selected.

  • To cancel this function, click “Cancel” or the close window button.

  • Save Change.  

  • Mirror All - This feature may be used to mirror (copy) all subordinates from one manager to another.  The feature helps when subordinates report to more than one manager.

  • This feature will not function when a partial list of employees is selected.

  • When this feature is selected a “Switch Subordinates To…” popup will be displayed.

  • Begin typing the name and select from the dropdown list.  The function will be completed once the name is selected.

  • To cancel this function, “Cancel” or the close window button.

  • Save Change.


Find Unassigned – This feature may be used to identify any employee missing from the hierarchy.


  • Click “Find Unassigned”.

  • Any unassigned employees will be displayed in a popup window.  

  • Select the employee(s) and assign to the hierarchy.

  • Save Changes.


Transferring or Reassigning Employees

  • When moving a few employees, simply select the individual employee then delete any relevant names under “Managers” then select the new manager(s) from the dropdown list.

  • When moving a large number of employees, use the “Move Selected”, “Copy Selected”, “Switch All”, and “Mirror All” features.

  • Save Changes then check the hierarchy to review the new assignments.