WARNING - Categories appear in alphabetic order and are resorted when you leave the section or refresh your screen.  Typically, you should not rename a category.  It will rename every existing entry under that category.  We recommend making the existing category inactive and creating a new category.


  • Creating New Categories - There is no limit on the number of categories which may be created.
  • The “New Documentation” folder appears by default.
  • Click “Add Category” . A new box will appear entitled “New Category.” Enter the name of the new category. This field is limited to 32 spaces or characters.
  • Save Changes.
  • Select the “Early Invention” folder from the dropdown menu to add response categories for intervention flags.
  • Select the “Recognition” folder from the dropdown menu to add response categories for recognition flags.

You must create response categories for any intervention/recognition flags. Otherwise, users will not be able to respond and clear flags.

You should create specific incident categories to be used in response to all intervention and recognition flags. Examples include; Early Intervention Response, Tardiness Flag Response, Recognition Response, etc.


Grouping Categories – This optional feature may be used to help organize categories. When grouped together, categories will appear in alphabetic order under the group heading. For example, you may group categories together according to; recognition and awards, general, or discipline.


  • Enter the group name in the appropriate field.
  • The system remembers the group name as you assign additional categories.
    • Use the smartbox when adding additional categories. Take care to be exact if you retype the group name, otherwise you will create a different group.

Groups appear alphabetically when displayed on the create page. For example, the group “Discipline” will appear before the group “Recognition.” You may order the group by placing a number before the group name, such as; 1 – Recognition, 2 – Discipline. 


Assigning Minimum Title – Select a title from the dropdown menu. This title, or any title above it in the list, will see the category when creating an entry. For example – Your policy may require a supervisor to issue a letter of appreciation. Supervisor may be selected as the minimum title and only supervisors and above will see this category while creating an entry.

  • Open the dropdown list in the “Minimum Title” then select the appropriate title.

  • If no title is selected then the category will be displayed for everyone in the organization who has create rights.

  • Save Changes.

Purging


The ability to purge was added for organizations who by contract, law or policy need to have certain types of entries purge at a predefined time. We advocate that you never purge unless required to do so. Remember…purge means purge. These entries are gone.


You can set purge thresholds for each category. 


  • If left blank, related entries will never purge.
  • To purge, enter number of days before purge.  Any related entries will automatically purge based on the number of days since the “Occurred On” date.
  • Save Changes.


Description – If needed, a description can be included to guide the user and provide more consistent documentation. You will find that most categories are self-evident and will not require a description.

  • The description is limited to 128 characters.

    Click the “Description” field.

  • Type the category description.

  • Click “Done.”

  • Save Changes. To cancel, click “Cancel” or the close window button.Descriptions are displayed only while creating an entry and are not included once it has been completed.


Making a Category Inactive

  • All categories are checked “Active” by default.

  • Uncheck selected categories then click “Save Changes.”

  • The inactive categories will no longer appear as a choice while creating a new entry, but will remain accessible on the View page and are included in all reports.


Deleting Categories – Initially, you will notice a delete symbol at the end of each new category. Once the category is used it can no longer be deleted, but can be made inactive.