DISCUSSION - Transparency has always been an essential aspect of Guardian Tracking and, time and time again, has proven to be beneficial to performance management. We believe confidential entries should be the exception and not the rule.
Reasons for confidentiality could include, among others, personnel records and internal investigations. We recommend that your organization set expectations regarding confidentiality and the use of this feature.
Setting Up Permissions and Groups
- The GT admin will be responsible for assigning permission to make confidential entries. The admin will create confidential groups and assign group members.
- By default, only members of a group may view confidential entries. Without being assigned to a group, not even the admin or someone with “view all” permission may view this type of entry.
- In most cases, groups will have very few members (this could be an IA Supervisor or a Personnel Director). Group members can grant access to other users, as needed, to a specific entry. For example, a group member may assign a supervisor to investigate a specific complaint. The supervisor will then have access to that specific confidential entry. Access can be taken away when no longer needed.
Creating Confidential Entries
When creating a new entry, those with permission to do so, will see a “Confidential” drop down. To make a routine entry, simply leave this drop down menu on the default setting, which reads; “No, treat as normal documentation.”
- To make a confidential entry, select any category then select the appropriate confidential group and complete the entry.
- You will receive an alert the entry has been created, but will not have access to it. Confidential entries will override any document flow and go immediately to assigned group members.
- Group members will receive email notification regarding the confidential entry. New or updated confidential entries are highlighted in red and will appear on the “Home” page of all group members.
- When working with a specific entry, group members may grant access to users outside the group. To do so, click “Change Access” then assign the individual(s). All individuals with access are listed in the entry.
- Actions items may be assigned to individuals with access to confidential entries and email notification will be made regarding the action item.
- The audit trail also functions with confidential entries.
- Confidential entries are highlighted in red on the “View” page.
- Those with access to confidential entries will have access to filters with the ability to show or hide confidential entries when viewing or printing reports.
- A second filter will allow you to isolate all entries in a particular confidential group.
- Once again, confidential entries are highlighted in red and are only viewable while the individual is granted access.
IMPORTANT: The following should be noted regarding confidential entries.
- Confidential entries will override any document flow and go immediately to the selected group.
- Once an entry has been made confidential it cannot be reversed. The only option is to delete the entry and create it again. In order to delete a confidential entry, a group member must be given admin rights or the GT admin must be assigned to the appropriate group.
Add video or screenshot
In conclusion, we created this feature after receiving numerous requests from our clients. While the feature will serve your organization well, we would encourage transparency whenever possible.